Three Rivers SWCD Hosts Area III Spring Meeting

April 8, 2024

Three Rivers SWCD hosted the Virginia Association of Soil & Water Conservation Districts Area III Spring Meeting on March 19, 2024 at St. Margaret’s School in Tappahannock. There were 108 guests in attendance. To ensure appropriate representation of districts in the work of the Association, the Commonwealth of Virginia is divided into six geographic areas; Three Rivers SWCD falls within Area III which encompasses the counties of Essex, King William, King & Queen, Mathews, Middlesex, Gloucester, King George, Fredericksburg, Spotsylvania, Hanover, Caroline, Richmond, Lancaster, Northumberland, Westmoreland, James City, Charles City, Williamsburg, York, New Kent, Henrico, Powhatan and Goochland.

The following speakers addressed the audience with topics pertaining to
soil and water conservation:
– Welcome – Robert T. Bland, IV, Chairman, Three Rivers SWCD
– Richard Moncure, Director of S.T.R.E.A.M., St. Margaret’s School
– Honorable Hillary Pugh Kent, Virginia 67th District Delegate
– Clairborne Yarbrough, Area III Business Meeting
– Virginia Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts – Wayne Davis, President, Dr. Kendall Tyree, Executive Director, Steven Meeks, NACD Board Member representing VA
– Sarah Cole – VA Association of Conservation District Employees, Three Rivers SWCD
– Matthew Wells, Director, DCR
– Darrell Glover, Deputy Director of Soil and Water Conservation, Dam Safety, Flood Preparedness, DCR
– Dr. Edwin Martinez Martinez, State Conservationist, NRCS
– Amy Walker, Eastern Area Manager, DCR – Whole Farm Approach Update
– Blair Gordon, SWCD Liaison, DCR – New Director Orientation Phase II Training

Honorable Hillary Pugh Kent addressing guests
Some of TRSWCD’s Directors
TRSWCD’s Chairman Robert T. Bland, IV welcoming guests

Latest News

The Office

Business Hours

  • Monday – Friday – 8:30am to 4:30pm
  • Saturday – Closed
  • Sunday – Closed